DVD & Blu-ray

UK DVD & Blu-ray Releases: Monday 15th August 2011

Including Source Code and Countdown to Zero


Source Code (Optimum Home Entertainment): Sci-fi thriller about a US soldier US soldier (Jake Gyllenhaal) who must defuse a bomb on a Chicago bound train, only this proves more difficult than expected. Directed by Duncan Jones, it co-stars Michelle Monaghan, Vera Farmiga and Jeffrey Wright, and nicely channels Hitchcock and The Twilight Zone to create a satisfying piece of entertainment. [Buy it on Blu-ray or DVD from Amazon UK] [Read our review here]

Countdown to Zero (Dogwoof): Lucy Walkerโ€™s campaigning documentary is an absorbing warning about the dangers still posed by nuclear weapons, even though its optimism blurs the wider issues. That said it features an impressive line-up of interviewees (Mikhail Gorbachev, Pervez Musharraf, Jimmy Carter and Joseph Cirincione) and paints a sobering portrait of a persistent, existential menace. [Buy it on DVD from Amazon UK] [Read our review here]


AC/DC: Let There Be Rock (Warner Home Video) [Blu-ray / Normal]
Curse of the Golden Flower (Universal Pictures) [Blu-ray / Normal]
Earth and Space (Go Entertain) [Blu-ray / Normal]
Legendary Warriors Collection (Warner Home Video) [Blu-ray / Normal]
Spy Kids (Miramax) [Blu-ray / Normal]
Spy Kids 2 – The Island of Lost Dreams (Miramax) [Blu-ray / Normal]
Spy Kids 3 – Game Over (Miramax) [Blu-ray / Normal]
Spy Kids Trilogy (Miramax) [Blu-ray / Box Set]
The Extraordinary Adventures of Adele Blanc-Sec (Optimum Home Entertainment) [Blu-ray with DVD – Double Play]

>ย UK Cinema Releases for Friday 12th August 2011 including Rise of the Planet of the Apes
>ย The Best DVD & Blu-ray releases of 2010